Understanding the Food Hygiene Rating Scheme

The Food Hygiene Rating Scheme (FHRS) is used in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, Scotland has its own system. The FHRS is designed to give customers to food establishments a quick and simple indication of hygiene levels.

Higher Rating - more attractive to customers

To attract customers you need to achieve a high rating and there is no reason why every business should not get the top rating of level 5 without incurring great expense. To do this you must get things right from the beginning and understand how the scheme works.

If you are running a business that supplies food directly to the public in England, Wales or Northern Ireland you will be subject to the Food Hygiene Rating Scheme (FHRS). This is a bit like taking an exam. The aim of this advice pack is to help you pass that exam. This means getting an FHRS rating of level 5. As with any exam you need to know the syllabus.

Understand FHRS pdf

Food Hygiene Rating level 5
  • Part 1 - Helps you understand how the FHRS scheme works.
  • Part 2 - Helps you understand what Food Safety Officers (FSOs) are looking for when they inspect your business.
  • Part 3 – Explains what you can do if you get a poor rating

Get to know the Food Hygiene Ratings Scheme and find out what is expected of you. £6.50 (delivered by email)


  • Food regulations background
  • Understanding how the Food Hygiene Rating Scheme works
  • How the scoring works
  • What do I need to get level 5?
  • What do Food Safety Officers look for when carrying out an inspection?
  • What do I have to do to pass the exam?
  • How often am I inspected?
  • Revisits
  • Right of appeal
  • Right of reply

Back to top